Imagine getting behind the wheel of a car for the first time and ending up in a collision that takes the life of a passenger. That is precisely what occurred in Omaha, Nebraska recently, according to family members of the driver. The 24 year old driver now faces felony drunk driving charges and remains in jail on a $500,000 bond.
According to police, the 24 year old driver was eastbound on Lake Street on January 18, 2015 when he lost control of his vehicle, causing it to crash into a utility pole near 42nd Street and roll over. A 21 year old female passenger suffered fatal injuries when she was thrown from the vehicle during the crash. Another passenger suffered a broken and dislocated hip. The driver allegedly had a blood alcohol content of 0.103 at the time of the fatal collision.
Family members of the driver are shocked that the defendant was even driving given the fact that he does not have a driver’s license and has reportedly never before driven a vehicle. “Never driven a car in his life, never. I don’t know what convinced him to get behind the wheel of a car because to me someone talked him into driving that car because all of them were under the influence,” said Cynthia Carroll, Tony’s mother.
Driving Under the Influence Causing Death or Serious Bodily Injury in Nebraska
The January 18th collision has irreparably harmed several families. Clearly the family of the fatally injured passenger has lost a family member; however, the family of the defendant is also now facing the possibility of a lengthy prison sentence for the defendant is convicted of the charges against him.
Nebraska law provides for harsh penalties if convicted of felony driving under the influence, or DUI charges. “DUI Causing Serious Bodily Injury to Another Person or Unborn Child” is a Class IIIA felony in Nebraska, carrying up to five years in jail and a $10,000 fine along with a license revocation of 60 days to 15 years if convicted. “Motor Vehicle Homicide” in Nebraska is a Class III felony if the defendant has no prior conviction or a Class II felony if a prior conviction exists. If convicted of Motor Vehicle Homicide a defendant faces up to 20 years in prison, a fine of up to $25,000 and a license revocation of one to 15 years.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Nebraska contact the Petersen Law Office 24 hours a day at 402-513-2180 to discuss your case with an experienced DUI defense attorney.
- How Does Nebraska Expungement Work? - Monday, November 14, 2022
- Can You Move To Another State on Probation? - Saturday, November 12, 2022
- What Is the Punishment for Possession, Sale, or Trafficking Cocaine in Nebraska? - Friday, September 16, 2022