There are some very unpleasant consequences that can come about if you are found guilty of driving under the influence. Most people are aware of the fact that there are some financial penalties. The court can impose a fine, and there are typically going to be additional expenses once you attempt to get your license back after a period of mandatory revocation.
The financial end of the equation is attention-getting, and you certainly do not want to lose your drivers license. However, there is another major penalty that is extremely disconcerting: mandatory jail time.
Nebraska DUI Jail Time
You must serve a mandatory jail sentence if you are convicted of driving under the influence in Nebraska. There are rules on the books that the court must follow with regard to jail time. There is a minimum sentence that must be served, and there is also a maximum that can be imposed at the discretion of the court.
People are sometimes convicted of driving under the influence multiple different times. As you may imagine, the jail time is going to increase if you are convicted of multiple different DUI offenses.
You may be surprised when you hear that the minimum jail term for a first DUI conviction is seven days. Clearly, this is a significant amount of time to spend behind bars. The maximum allowable jail term for a first conviction in the state of Nebraska is 60 days.
Things get worse if you are convicted for a second time. The minimum jail term for a second driving under the influence conviction is 30 days, and the court can increase this to as many as 90 days.
There are those who are convicted of driving under the influence for a third time, in spite of these penalties. At that point, you are looking at a minimum jail sentence of 90 days, and a maximum sentence of one full year.
The sentences that we explained in the previous section are post-conviction sentences. However, there is another factor to consider when you are looking at jail time. If you are arrested for driving under the influence, you are going to be detained until you post bond.
The bond can be considerable if you are convicted of a felony DUI charge, and it can be significant if you are an out-of-state driver. A licensed DUI attorney can help if you are seeking jail release after a DUI arrest.
Contact Our Firm
If you are facing DUI charges, you should obtain legal representation as soon as possible. We have helped countless people in the greater Omaha area over the years, and we do not judge or preach to our clients. We are here to defend the accused.
If you would like to contact our firm, you can send us a message through our contact page or call us at 402-513-2180.
Latest posts by Tom Petersen (see all)
- Omaha Criminal Defense Lawyer Explains Voir Dire (Jury Questioning) - Friday, February 22, 2019
- DUI Lawyer Answers Common Questions - Friday, February 15, 2019
- How to Think Like a Police Officer – and Avoid Getting Pulled Over By One - Friday, February 8, 2019