In the state of Nebraska, it is illegal to possess any amount of methamphetamine, regardless of whether it is for personal use or for sale. The penalties for meth possession can be severe, even for a first time offense. For a personal possession drug crime conviction, a person could be looking at fines up to $10,000 and/or a maximum of five years behind bars. The penalties for possession with intent to sell can be even more serious.
A 26-year-old man was arrested in Lincoln, Nebraska last December after authorities allegedly found 15.5 grams of methamphetamine, a rifle and nearly $50,000 in cash. The man is a former Husker football player who was sleeping in his car when a woman noticed him. When she went to check on him, she said she could see rifle ammunition on him, so she called authorities.
When police officers arrived, the man was asleep in his running car. After they woke him up and opened his car door, the ammunition allegedly tumbled out into the parking lot. The man told authorities that he had going to target practice when he fell asleep. A couple days after his arrest, authorities searched a storage unit that the man had rented and reportedly found almost a quarter pound of methamphetamine.
The man pled guilty to conspiracy to distribute meth and possessing a gun to aid in a drug trafficking crime. He could be looking at spending 15 years to life in a federal prison when he is sentenced in October.
Source: Lincoln Journal Star, “Former Husker faces 15 years in prison for drug conspiracy, gun charge,” Lori Pilger, July 14, 2014
Latest posts by Tom Petersen (see all)
- Understanding a No Contact Order - Saturday, December 21, 2019
- Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Nebraska? - Thursday, December 19, 2019
- Driving Out of Colorado with Edibles to Nebraska: Is it Legal? - Friday, November 15, 2019