Arrested After Driving Under Suspension in Nebraska?
In the State of Nebraska, your driving privileges may be suspended or revoked as a result of an alcohol related driving offense.
If your driving privileges have been revoked and you are caught driving with a revoked license you could face additional criminal charges as well as additional administrative penalties with respect to your driving privileges.
If you are arrested and charged with driving under the influence, or DUI, in Nebraska your driving privileges will automatically be revoked pending the outcome of your case.
The revocation of your driving privileges is an administrative civil action taken by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to the Administrative License Revocation rules.
If you are ultimately convicted of DUI, you also face a revocation of your driver’s license. The amount of time your license is revoked for depends on a number of factors but can range from 60 days to permanent revocation.
In addition, refusing to submit to a chemical test also carries with it an automatic license revocation. If your driving privileges have been revoked and you are caught driving anyway you face serious penalties.
Driving After a DUI Revocation Penalties
Nebraska Revised Statute 60-4,108 makes it a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle when your license has been revoked. If caught, you will be charged with a Class II misdemeanor. The penalties for a Class II misdemeanor, if convicted, include up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
In some cases, you could be charged with the lessor Class III misdemeanor. This only applies if your license revocation period actually ended but you have yet to reinstate your driving privileges. If convicted of a Class III misdemeanor you face up to three months in jail and a fine of up to $500.
In addition to the criminal penalties you face if convicted of driving on a revoked license, you will also likely incur an additional period of revocation. For your first driving on a revoked license conviction your driving privileges will be revoked for an additional year. For a second, or subsequent, driving on a revoked license you face an additional two year period of revocation. Your vehicle may also be impounded.
Contact a Nebraska DUI Lawyer Today
If your license has been revoked because of a DUI, you could be eligible for an Ignition Interlock Permit, or IIP, license. An IIP license will allow you to legally operate a motor vehicle during a period of revocation. Before you risk another arrest for driving on a revoked license, contact our Nebraska DUI attorneys at Petersen Law Office. Contact the office 24 hours a day at 402-513-2180 to find out if you are eligible for an IIP license.
- How Does Nebraska Expungement Work? - Monday, November 14, 2022
- Can You Move To Another State on Probation? - Saturday, November 12, 2022
- What Is the Punishment for Possession, Sale, or Trafficking Cocaine in Nebraska? - Friday, September 16, 2022