In the State of Nebraska, drinking and driving is taken very seriously and the penalties for a conviction can be harsh. Even a first time driving under the influence, or DUI, conviction could result in jail time. If you are facing a Nebraska DUI with serious bodily injury charge the potential penalties are severe. Only an experienced Nebraska criminal defense attorney can evaluate the facts and circumstances of your case and provide you with individualized advice and guidance; however, a better understanding of the charges you are faced with may be a good place to start.
Nebraska Revised Statute 60-6,198 is where DUI with serious bodily injury can be found and reads, in pertinent parts, as follows:
“Any person who, while operating a motor vehicle in violation of section 60-6,196 or 60-6,197, proximately causes serious bodily injury to another person or an unborn child of a pregnant woman shall be guilty of a Class IIIA felony and the court shall, as part of the judgment of conviction, order the person not to drive any motor vehicle for any purpose for a period of at least sixty days and not more than fifteen years from the date ordered by the court and shall order that the operator’s license of such person be revoked for the same period.”
The statute goes on to define “serious bodily injury” as “bodily injury which involves a substantial risk of death, a substantial risk of serious permanent disfigurement, or a temporary or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any part or organ of the body.”
If convicted of DUI with serious bodily injury in Nebraska you face up to five years in jail, a license revocation of up to 15 years and a fine of up to $10,000. In addition, you will have a felony conviction on your permanent record. A felony conviction can result in a number of non-judicial consequences such as lost job opportunities, disciplinary action if you hold a professional license, and loss of eligibility for many federal and state benefits and assistance programs.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence with serious bodily injury in Nebraska it is imperative that you consult with an experienced Nebraska DUI attorney as soon as possible to determine what your legal options and defenses may be. Contact the Petersen Law Office 24 hours a day at 402-513-2180 to discuss your case with an experienced DUI defense attorney.
Latest posts by Tom Petersen (see all)
- Omaha Criminal Defense Lawyer Explains Voir Dire (Jury Questioning) - Friday, February 22, 2019
- DUI Lawyer Answers Common Questions - Friday, February 15, 2019
- How to Think Like a Police Officer – and Avoid Getting Pulled Over By One - Friday, February 8, 2019