If you live in the State of Nebraska you likely already know that the state takes the issue of driving under the influence very seriously. You may even feel as though Nebraska is harsher on DUI offenders than other states – and you may be right. A recent study ranked the State of Nebraska the 6th toughest state on DUI offenders in the United States. If you are facing charges for driving under the influence in Nebraska it would be wise to keep this in mind and to make sure you are represented by an experienced Nebraska criminal defense attorney to ensure that your rights are protected.
Each individual state determines the penalties for a conviction of a criminal offenses in that state. As a result, the penalties an offender may face in one state can be vastly different than they would face in another state for the exact same offense. While the drunk driving laws across the entire United States have been getting tougher as a general rule over the past several decades, they still lack uniformity. So which states are the toughest and which states are lenient?
The personal finance site “WalletHub” recently analyzed the penalties associated with a conviction for driving under the influence, or DUI, in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to determine which states were tough on DUI offenders and which states were lenient. The researchers used 15 key metrics in their evaluation. Each variable was weighted so that the toughest ones, such as jail sentences as well as those shown to have the biggest impact on repeat offenders, such as ignition interlock devices, were weighted more heavily.
The results of the analysis put Arizona at the top of the list as the harshest state on DUI offenders. Factors that gave Arizona the number one spot include the longest minimum jail term (10 days) for first-time offenders along with a vehicle impound and a 90-day minimum jail time for a second offense. In addition, a DUI is an automatic felony on a third offense and an ignition interlock device is mandatory after just one DUI conviction. The State of Nebraska came in at #6 on the list with a rank of “3” (with 1 being the strictest) for “Criminal Penalties.” Interestingly, Nebraska scored a “32” in the “Prevention Rank” category, the highest (or worst) of all states that ranked in the top ten for “Criminal Penalties.”
If you have been charged with DUI in Nebraska contact Petersen Criminal Defense Law 24 hours a day at 402-509-8070 to discuss your case with an experienced criminal defense attorney?
Latest posts by Tom Petersen (see all)
- Omaha Criminal Defense Lawyer Explains Voir Dire (Jury Questioning) - Friday, February 22, 2019
- DUI Lawyer Answers Common Questions - Friday, February 15, 2019
- How to Think Like a Police Officer – and Avoid Getting Pulled Over By One - Friday, February 8, 2019