Over the past several decades laws across the country relating to drinking and driving have become tougher and the penalties harsher. In Sarpy County in Nebraska, a conviction for driving under the influence, or DUI, carries with it a variety of serious penalties. One of the penalties that will be imposed if you are convicted for a Sarpy County DUI is the revocation of your driving privileges. The length of your license revocation will depend on your previous history of DUI, or lack of a history.
If you are currently facing a Sarpy County DUI charge and this is the first potential conviction for DUI you face a driver’s license revocation of six months. In Nebraska, as in all states, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a breath alcohol content, or BAC, of over 0.08 percent. If, however, your BAC level was 0.15 or higher at the time of your arrest it is considered an “aggravated DUI”, meaning you face additional penalties. For a first time aggravated DUI you could have your license revoked for up to a year.For a first time DUI you may be eligible for an ignition interlock device, or IID. An IID is a device that is installed on your vehicle that requires you to provide a sample of your breath before the vehicle will start. If the IID device detects alcohol on your breath the vehicle is immobilized and will not start. If you are allowed to operate your vehicle during your license revocation period with an IID you will be responsible for covering the costs associated with the device.
If you have a history of DUI convictions the penalties for another conviction are even more serious. For a second DUI conviction you face a mandatory license revocation of one year. If you are granted probation for a second DUI conviction you may be entitled to drive after 45 days have passed on your license revocation if you install an IID device.For a third or subsequent Sarpy County DUI conviction you face a license revocation of up to 15 years.
Like most states, Nebraska also has an implied consent which essentially means that you consent to a breathalyzer test if you are operating a motor vehicle in the state and are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence. Although you do have the right to refuse a breath, blood, or urine test, your license will be suspended for one year and you will have a 90 day waiting period to drive with an ignition interlock. This suspension for refusing is in addition to any other revocation period imposed by the court if you are ultimately convicted of DUI.
Latest posts by Tom Petersen (see all)
- Omaha Criminal Defense Lawyer Explains Voir Dire (Jury Questioning) - Friday, February 22, 2019
- DUI Lawyer Answers Common Questions - Friday, February 15, 2019
- How to Think Like a Police Officer – and Avoid Getting Pulled Over By One - Friday, February 8, 2019