If you were recently arrested for driving under the influence, or DUI, in Nebraska you are probably worried about the outcome of your case. As you likely already know, there are a number of judicial and non-judicial consequences that may follow a conviction for DUI in Nebraska. Along with those consequences, you may also be wondering “ What will a DUI cost me in Nebraska “ There is no universal answer to that questions because each DUI case is unique; however, there are some common expenses involved in most DUI prosecutions, including:
- Bond – the first expense you will likely have if arrested and charged with a DUI in Nebraska is bond. Bond is set based on a number of factors, including your current charges and your previous criminal history (or lack thereof). Unless you are released on your own recognizance (OR’d) you will have to pay at least 10 percent of the bond amount to a bail bondsman in order to be released. For example, if your bond is set at $2,500 you would have to pay $250 to a bondsman to secure your release.
- Court fines and costs – court costs run around $100 for a criminal case in Nebraska. The fine for a first time DUI can be up to $500. For a second or subsequent DUI the fine can be significantly more.
- Restitution – if you were involved in an accident, or caused property damage, while driving under the influence you may also be required to pay restitution. This is separate from all other fees and costs. If restitution is ordered it is intended to represent the costs related to the damage you caused.
- Probation fees and costs – all probationers must pay a $30.00 enrollment fee. You will then need to pay $25 or $35 per month, depending on the type of probation ordered, for the duration of your probation. You may also be required to pay for drug screens, assessments, and electronic surveillance fees if ordered by the court.
- Ignition Interlock Device costs – if you apply for an ignition interlock permit you must pay an initial fee of $47.50 plus the monthly monitoring fees for the duration of the time you are required to have the IID installed on your vehicle.
- Substance abuse classes etc. – if you are ordered to complete a substance abuse evaluation and treatment you may also be required to pay for both.
As you can see, the financial cost of a DUI in Nebraska can be high. Many of these costs will only apply if you are actually convicted of the charges filed against you. Therefore, the cost of hiring an experienced Nebraska DUI defense attorney will often be less than the costs associated with a conviction. For this reason alone it only makes sense to consult with an attorney as soon after you are charged with a DUI as possible to find out what defense options are available to you and what hiring an attorney will cost you.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Nebraska contact the Petersen Law Office 24 hours a day at 402-513-2180 to discuss your case with an experienced DUI defense attorney.
Latest posts by Tom Petersen (see all)
- Omaha Criminal Defense Lawyer Explains Voir Dire (Jury Questioning) - Friday, February 22, 2019
- DUI Lawyer Answers Common Questions - Friday, February 15, 2019
- How to Think Like a Police Officer – and Avoid Getting Pulled Over By One - Friday, February 8, 2019