Whether you have a gun for personal safety or sport, you should know Nebraska’s laws on legally owning a firearm.
Nebraska is an open-carry and concealed-carry state.
This means gun owners may openly carry their firearms in certain places and conceal their guns with the proper permit.
Depending on where the gun owner carries or conceals the firearm determines whether the gun needs to be registered.
Do You Have to Register a Firearm in Nebraska?
Nebraska does not have a statewide requirement to register a firearm, but the City of Omaha requires additional steps for gun owners.
If you possess a concealable firearm such as a pistol, inside Omaha’s city limits, you must register the gun.
Even if you do not reside in Omaha, you must register your concealable firearm with the Omaha Police Department if you travel with the firearm inside the city limits.
How to Register a Firearm in Omaha
To register a firearm, you need to bring your completed application, a photo identification card, and $15 payment to the Omaha Police Department.
When you purchase a firearm from a gun dealer, the dealer will provide the necessary paperwork to register the gun.
Sometimes the gun dealer will not release the firearm until you show proof of a registration card, but others will allow you to take the gun as soon as you purchase it.
If the gun dealer releases the firearm to you without your registration card, you need to bring the gun with you to the Omaha Police Department. The firearm must be unloaded and locked in a container.
Those with a valid concealed carry Nebraska permit do not have to register their firearm.
Qualifications to Register a Handgun in Omaha
There are certain qualifications to register and complete a Nebraska concealed handgun permit application. You must be a United States citizen, at least 21 years old, and a non-felon.
The Omaha Police Department will review your criminal history, and any of the following could disqualify you from registering your firearm:
- Convictions for carrying a concealed weapon or being a minor in possession of a firearm;
- Being the subject of an active protection order;
- Convictions within the past five years of assault, child abuse, or violations of any provisions of Chapter 20, Article VII of the Omaha Municipal Code;
- Charges of domestic violence;
- Records of a mental disorder;
- Dishonorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces; or
- Use of or addiction to an unlawful controlled substance.
Falsifying information on your firearm registration application not only disqualifies you from registering your firearm but is also a felony.
Contact the Petersen Law Office
For additional information on legally possessing and registering a firearm in Nebraska, contact the Petersen Law Office.
Our group of attorneys has over 25 years of experience working with clients in Omaha, Nebraska, and the surrounding areas.
We are well-versed in the legal processes to register your firearm, so reach out to us today for assistance.
- Who Is Prohibited from Possessing a Firearm in Nebraska? - Thursday, May 18, 2023
- Understanding a No Contact Order - Monday, May 15, 2023
- How Long Does a Minor in Possession Stay on Your Record in Nebraska? - Monday, April 10, 2023